Cynthia E. Nance, Dean and Nathan G. Gordon Professor at the University of Arkansas at Fayetteville School of Law, earned her B.S. degree, magna cum laude, from Chicago State University. She holds a J.D., with distinction, from the University of Iowa College of Law and an M.A. from the University of Iowa College of Business. She joined the Arkansas Law faculty as an assistant professor in 1994 and served as dean of the law school from 2006-2011. Her teaching and scholarship focus on labor and employment law, workplace legislation, poverty law and Lawyers as Leaders. She was the law school's first director of pro bono and community engagement.

Nance's articles appear in journals including the Iowa Law Review, Berkeley Journal of Employment and Labor Law, Rutgers Law Review, and Brandeis Law Journal. She has given presentations on various legal and educational issues nationally as well as in Mexico, Brunei, Singapore, Netherlands and Ukraine. She served as keynote speaker for the Commonwealth of the Northern Marianas' inaugural Martin Luther King Jr. Day Celebration.

Nance is a Fellow of the College of Labor and Employment Lawyers, and the President of the College's Board of the Governors. She is a member of the ABA Board of Governors, its Pension Committee, and House of Delegates. She is an elected member of the American Law Institute and The Labor Law Group, recently completing service on the latter's Executive Committee. Nance served for 6 years as a member of the Arkansas Advisory Committee to the United States Civil Rights Commission. She's a past-chair of the American Bar Foundation Fellows and a current State Chair, and a former Eighth Circuit Member of the American Bar Association's Standing Committee on the Federal Judiciary.

An Arkansas PBS Commissioner, Nance has served on the Arkansas Bar Foundation Trust Committee and as a member of the Council of the ABA Section on Legal Education and Admissions to the Bar, the ABA Commission on Homelessness and Poverty, and the National Association of Law Placement Foundation Board. The Arkansas Supreme Court appointed her to the Arkansas Judges and Lawyers Assistance Program Committee on which she currently serves. She is a member of the Harold Flowers Law Society, an affiliate of the National Bar Association, and a Board Member of the Arkansas Women's Hall of Fame. She formerly served on the boards of WelcomeHealth and Bikes, Blues and Barbecue of Northwest Arkansas.

A member of the Phi Alpha Omega Chapter of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Incorporated, she previously served in leadership roles including the positions of Vice President and President of the chapter. She is a charter member of the chapter and Life Member of the sorority. Additional examples of her commitment to service include her past roles as a member of the Law School Admissions Council Board of Trustees, the Interfaith Worker Justice Board, the Advisory Committee on Corporate Social Responsibility of the Evangelical Lutheran Church, and as an Anti-Racism Trainer for the Women of the Evangelical Lutheran Church.

She has received various awards for her outstanding service, including the 2024 John L. Colbert Lifetime Achievement Award from the NWA Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Council, 2023 Carrying on the Legacy Award from the Harold Flowers Law Society, 2023 Association of American Schools Ruth Bader Ginsburg Lifetime Achievement award *Law*, 2023 Lawyers of Color's Power List, the 2021 Richard S. Arnold Award for Distinguished Service in the Western District of Arkansas by the Eighth Circuit Bar Association, 2021 University of Iowa Hancher-

Finkbine Medallion, the 2018 American Bar Association Margaret Brent Women Lawyers of Achievement Award, 2017 Arkansas Bar Association Presidential Award of Excellence, 2017 Alpha Kappa Alpha, Mary Louise Williams, Guiding Star for Public Service Award, 2016 Community Leader Award, 2016 Northwest Arkansas Worker Justice Center, 2014 Individual Educator Achievement Award, Northwest Arkansas Democratic Black Caucus, the 2012 American Bar Association Spirit of Excellence Award, 2007 Arthur A. Fletcher Award of the American Association for Affirmative Action, 2005 Arkansas Bar Association Outstanding Lawyer-Citizen Award, and the University of Arkansas, 2004 Faculty Distinguished Achievement Award in Public Service.

She previously received the Northwest Arkansas Martin Luther King Commission Individual Achievement Award and was recognized as one of Diverse Issues in *Higher Education* magazine's "25 Women Making a Difference," as a "Woman of Influence" by *Arkansas Business,* and as one of the most influential lawyers on Twitter by *On Being a Black Lawyer.* She has been featured as one of Arkansas' 12 Most Powerful Women by *AY* Magazine and *Talk Business Quarterly.* Nance is also the inaugural recipient of the Harold Flowers Association's Judge Andree Layton Roaf Award of Excellence, and a recipient of the University of Arkansas Women Law Students' Gayle Pettus Pontz award. In 2009, the Black Law Student Association Chapter named its chapter after Dean Nance.